2020 Annual Report and a Letter to our Members


Dear Member,

In normal times, our AGMs are friendly gatherings of the people who care about Easter Craiglockhart Hill. But these are not normal times and Covid makes a conventional AGM impossible. Instead, we are sending you an Annual Report and Accounts. Please click on the link below to see them. If you have comments or questions, please e-mail us and we will reply to you individually.

Our Report is longer and more detailed than in previous years. Now that we are a registered charity, we must report in a format required by our regulators. 

Thank you to everyone who has taken an interest in our work and in protecting and preserving Easter Craiglockhart Hill. Thanks to all those who came along to our events and activities and to our walk (and cruise) leaders – Gus Egan, Catherine Walker, Simon Hart, Stephan Helfer, Anna Canning and Colin Chess. A big vote of thanks as well to the stalwarts of the Hill Work Squad who can display their scars and blisters with pride.

We are fortunate to have an excellent Board of Trustees. Welcome to our new trustees –  Andy Strathdee (with expertise in ecology and entomology) and Jim Heath (a committed naturalist and ace photographer). Sadly, we say farewell to Will Searle who did sterling work on membership and newsletters.

We are grateful for the grants we have received this year from Paths for All, the Robertson Trust, South West Neighbourhood Partnership and the Community Fund of the National Lottery.  A generous donation from Louise Stobie funded the lovely ‘Lest We Forget’ seat at the top of the pond.

The Lottery Grant has, of course, covered the costs of employing Isobel (Izzy) Jones, our Community Engagement Worker. She has tackled her complex responsibilities with efficiency, enthusiasm, creativity and enduring good humour and made many friends. She has made a huge contribution to our work.

Sorry we cannot meet together this year. We look forward to your comments and questions. And we look forward to better times.
On behalf of the trustees,
Ewan Davidson



Click here to download the 2020 Annual Report